ASA vs RYA

mrplastic

Visit site
Hi People!

I am off to St Maarten in June and would like to use the time and location to learn to sail (I'm a novice motorboater). However they teach to ASA out there and I wondered if anyone can offer advice as to it's compatibility and standard when compared to our own RYA certs.

Are ASA certs accepted in the UK? or will I still have to take the RYA certs on my way to achieving Yachtmaster?

As always, my thanks in advance

CLP

<hr width=100% size=1>EVERYTHING begins with an E

peterb

Visit site
The only pieces of paper you have to have before taking your Yachtmaster exam are a radio qualification (usually the Short Range Certificate) and a first aid certificate.

Many people taking Yachtmaster have climbed the ladder of Competent Crew, Day Skipper and Coastal Skipper before taking the exam, but these are not compulsory. So you could take your ASA courses as being part of the training and experience you'll need for Yachtmaster; what the courses are actually called won't matter.

Perhaps more interesting is whether the RYA would issue an ICC on the basis of ASA qualifications.

<hr width=100% size=1>

alant

Visit site
You don't NEED any certification as a leisure 'sailor/boater' in the UK!
Unless you intend chartering or sailing as a pro, it really doesn't matter which 'regulatory' system you learn under if the tuition is good, unless bits of paper matter to you personally (like collecting badges).
Just learn & gain experience, then if you want to, get some quals.
Some of my best sailing mates have no quals, but I would sail anywhere with them & trust their judgement. Other people I have met, fully qualified, I wouldn't send a seagull out with.

<hr width=100% size=1>

mrplastic

Visit site