A Question for Divers

Talbot

Visit site
Do you carry all your gear with you or hire tanks when required, or do you have a compressor onboard?

Does anyone know of a small (cheap) lightweight compressor suitable for squeezing normal air tanks?

<hr width=100% size=1>

southchinasea

Visit site
I rent kit but a liveaaboard neighbour has his own compressor. Sorry
don't know what type/capacity. He's on a 50ft ketch and it doesn't take
up much space.
Cheers

<hr width=100% size=1>

tcm

Visit site
i have kit incl 2 tanks so am able to get under the boat asap if needs be- i'm not a professional diver, and have never dived recreationally and don't plan to do so - i only use it as a means to an end - to get under the boat.

I specifically didn't buy a compressor as i prefer to let other (more expert) people see the tanks from time to time, bit like if you have an aeroplane it's best to put it out for rental so as many pilots and instructorts as poss can check it out in between your use of the thing.

<hr width=100% size=1>

ccscott49

Visit site
I carry two complete sets of gear and two 75 cuft tanks and get them puffed up when and where I can, often some of the proffesional outfits will puff them up for you for free, otherwise theres lots of dive shops.

<hr width=100% size=1>

Gordonmc

Visit site
I am fraudulently replying to your post 'cos I am only a wannabe livaboard.
The only kit I travel with is the "up close and personal" variety, ie. suit, mask, fins and regulator. All the rest is hired.
If you are thinking of installing compressors I would get some serious advice. What goes into the compressor and subsequently your tanks is just as important as the bars. Water traps must be as efficient as possible, otherwise damp compressed air will get into the tanks leading to internal rusting and damage to 1st stage regulators.