Pretend I a Newbie. 2nd Thought, Don't Pretend!?!

noneother

Visit site
Looking Around to see if situation is doable, so whats the going rate for someone or more to Sail a boat from Massachusetts to the tip of England and further if possible? Is it possible to do it for free (like I said Newbie)? What would be expected by a crew of someone who cannot sail but wishes to learn on the way, but can also cook. As I'm a complete novice (I'm sure experience on a motor boat or narrow boat, isn't applicable) I'm willing to listen and learn but due to a learning disability, repeated directions are appreciated. Just need to find a sailboat cooker/oven and gas hookup. Anyways it could be soon but probably later, so any pointers to anything is appreciated by anyone?

T.I.A.

Yours
noneother

zoidberg

Visit site
I reckon it's likely doable, but this is probably not a good time of year for that trip. Most owner/skippers would be looking for individuals who could stand a watch and understood enough of living safely in the environment not to be a burden on others.
Should you be thinking of next year, then you have time to learn some skills which would be needed on a boat crossing the cold and stormy North Atlantic.

Major_Clanger

Home is Suffolk, boat either Suffolk or Cornwall
Visit site
I sometimes need crew (I'm a delivery skipper) and always look for people who can stand a watch. It's the difference from being part of the crew and being a passenger. Recommend you get some sailing in home waters first; an Atlantic crossing, especially W to E, is not something a complete novice should undertake without a few miles under their belt.

As Zoidberg says though, it's perfectly doable once you've got a bit of sea time.

Last edited:

chrishscorp

Visit site