New to EU .. Med. Looking for 22-24m MY. Pros/Cons of Types?

Hooligan

Visit site
Hello to all ~
New to the Forum as of 22 July.

I am a San Francisco - USA, 20 yr, USCG 100 Ton Master, power boater (and a dual-Cit - Portugal).
My wife and I are planning a 1-3 year tour of the EU, and are thinking about a 22-24m "live aboard" program that would take us all over the northern Med., 3-6 months per-place, at a time.
I am familiar with American boats that would suit this (older Hatteras, Burger, Broward, Grand Banks; newer Flemming, Ocean Alexander, Outer Reef). I am *not* familiar with EU brands.
We will double-hand the boat, and I want to stay below 24m for all kinds of reasons.
So, before we go jumping in with both feet, what should I be thinking about?
Presume I am a total novice.
Warn me about: windage, fuel costs, maintenance gremlins.
Talk to me about the variages of wooden boats vs. plastic, vs aluminum.
Tell me about how difficult or impossible it will be to find a transient slip in a marina for a 22-24m boat.
Talk me out of this plan, then tell me why you what you would do to make it happen for yourself.
:)
You need to factor in some hefty marina bills if you are planning to berth in the N Med. i would think given your plans that you would be best to base yourself in more southerly areas or at least not the Balearics or S France and then cruise during the summer to wherever you want. It has been easier finding berths for transit during the current Covid crisis but usually during the summer months you will need to book well in advance. If you are living on the boat during the winter months I strongly suggest that you look carefully at where you hole up. Some places can be pretty soulless so i would think you need to be near a City or somewhere with some culture. Personally I would have thought Italy would be the first place to look re marina base. It will be cheaper, it is ideally suited to moving North or South or West and the food and culture is unbeatable.