Wrong call?

As I said, the ruling is clear, if you KNOW that you are on Port, but call Starboard then you break rule 2. Black and white.

Of course if it isn't done deliberately, then it would not be grounds to have broken rule 2. That being the rule about sportsmanship. But that has sweet FA to do with the OP as they were "highly amused" when S tacked out of the way, as such it is clear that this was deliberate, so is a breach of rule 2. You would not be "highly amused" if you thought yourself to be on Starboard to see the other boat tack, you'd expect it.

If you are an experienced sailor, then good luck arguing that you did not know or "forgot" when you get to the protest room. Especially if you are seen to be "highly amused".

Did you read the penultimate paragraph of my post? :)

By the way, it is supposed to be Christmas .... a time for a little festive cheer and lightness, surely? ;)

Richard
 
Did you read the penultimate paragraph of my post? :)

By the way, it is supposed to be Christmas .... a time for a little festive cheer and lightness, surely? ;)

Richard

Yes, you were positing something that;
a) was absolutely clear from the wording of the case, and wasn't disputed in any of my posts
b) clearly does not apply to the situation in the OP.

Still, hopefully all can now agree that case 47 applies and, contrary to a lot of misinformation on this thread, the example in the OP would clearly break rule 2.

P.s. I'm sorry if you are not seeing festive cheer and lightness in my posts. I can assure you that I have eaten no fewer than 3 mince pies whilst making them. And clearly you missed my most excellent pun in my first reply to you.
 
Top