Wifi, Mobile or satphone antenna?

Tim Good

Visit site
I have a removed an old Inmarsat antenna from my stern arch and what remains is a good solid stainless mount and a good mousing line to pull through another cable.

As a liveaboard what would you find more useful:

1. a wifi booster allowing you to pickup hotspots from a few hundred meters away.

2. A decent mobile antenna allowing you to pickup better 3/4/5g signal Viana pocket wifi router.

3. An external antenna for my Iridium satphone for better and reliable signal.

RobbieW

Visit site
2 or 3 depending on my sailing plans. I have no experience with current satphone kit, I did find it difficult on a transat about 12 years ago to get a decent signal using the handheld kit

r_h

www.rupertholmes.co.uk
2 or 3 depending on my sailing plans. I have no experience with current satphone kit, I did find it difficult on a transat about 12 years ago to get a decent signal using the handheld kit

That's still the case - signal and download speeds are hugely better with an external iridium antenna.
Strangely, I've found they work less well in a marina than simply putting the Iridium Go in the cockpit, presumably due to being in close proximity to lots of masts. To test it after installing the antenna you may therefore need to go for a short sail.

Yngmar

Visit site
Assuming you have a GRP boat. For metal hulls it's a wholly different story.

I never found that cellular signals needed boosting (or benefitted from it). You either have a good signal, in which case you have it in the cabin too, or you don't and in that case any antenna fiddling even way up the mast does offer little to no improvement.

Wifi booster is well worth having IMHO, because not only do you occasionally get to pick up free wifi at anchor from a nearby hotspot, but it also helps with poor reception in many marinas (a forest of masts and steel rigging turns out to be quite the hindrance to wifi signals).