Where's the innovation? Here's some out-of-the-box thinking!

Hugin

Visit site
Hope you’re all enjoy the summer. I can report that here in Central Europe, exactly midpoint between the Baltic and Adriatic the heat is on. So this Saturday – SWMBO away for the weekend and the fan running - I started playing with some out of the box ideas for a game-changing flybridge cruiser around 14-15 tons dry displacement. That’s the class where you will find Princess 43, Fairline Squadron 42, Azimut 45 and Prestige 500. And many more! Not that I could afford such a beast with my current income, but one can always dream.

Researching the issue a bit I was quite surprised by the extent to which Volvo and IPS has conquered the market…. It’s virtually a monopoly, with something like 75% of boats of this type and size from the known European builders equipped with either IPS500 or IPS600. Only Princess, Fairline and Azimut haven’t completely surrendered to IPS yet… and of these only Azimut prefers Cummins over Volvo.

I am also a bit puzzled by the lack of innovation. It seems the best idea boat builders can come up with is to introduce new boat models virtually identical to all the competitors. Only variation seems to be 2 or 3 cabins and the Galley Up or Galley Down issue. The Prestige boats are well known now for their midship Owner’s Cabins with separate access way from the salon above… and hats off to them for that idea. Galeon seems to try some innovative features on their new 500 Fly, but it remains to be seen if it’s just for the appearance of being innovative or if the ideas have lasting merit. Apart from that, new ideas are virtually non-existent.

Anyway, I was getting some ideas about an innovative boat design with….. shock and horror…. no IPS and no Volvos!