Where to start, for an absolute beginner?

DD87

Visit site
Hello all!

So I have zero experience with boats except a day on the Norfolk broads but I am very keen to learn!

I would like to have a moderate sized powerboat in the not too distant future... a bavaria 32 sport or similar but I don't really know where to start.

Fortunately, I'm not naive enough to just buy a boat and have a bash at it. I would just like some guidance on how to start.

All advice and suggestions welcome!

Thanks

lpdsn

Visit site
Hello all!

So I have zero experience with boats except a day on the Norfolk broads but I am very keen to learn!

I would like to have a moderate sized powerboat in the not too distant future... a bavaria 32 sport or similar but I don't really know where to start.

Fortunately, I'm not naive enough to just buy a boat and have a bash at it. I would just like some guidance on how to start.

All advice and suggestions welcome!

Thanks

Start by crewing for someone. There's a crewing forum on here where you could put your name forward. There's also a MoBo forum if you are specifically interested in powerboating. And an East Coast forum if you're specifically interested in sailing in shallow muddy water.

Kelpie

Visit site
Welcome! You might be best off posting in the motorboat section of the forum, but some general advice would be:
- get out crewing on other people's boats first, maybe via a local club, so that you can get a taste of what is involved without the expense and commitment. You might also be able to get out on different types of boat and in different locations.
- decide where/how you are going to keep the boat. You may want a small trailer sailer that lives in your driveway and can be used in different locations. A bigger boat, like you suggest, will need a pontoon or swing mooring, and that may cost a fair bit to organise.