Where can I learn ........

lanason

Visit site
I will be buying my first boat in the new year ..... Been Family boating for years.
But I want a good refresher course - shore based - reminding me about Tides, Navigation, Safety, Motor Boat Handling, Launching etc.....
Does anyone know a good "school" around the M5 from Bristol to Brum who would do a Winter's 1 night a week type course ????

G

Try your local schools adult education classes. I did my Yachtmaster shore based last winter and my wife and 22 year old son are doing the day skipper this winter and we're in Cambridgeshire, not exactly close to the sea so there must be somewhere close for you. Their course is 2 hrs each week for 22 weeks for the grand cost of £110, about £2.50 and hour. Must be the cheapest thing in boating I've come across. Try phoning the local education authority, they'll have a list of evening classes available. One posible problem is that the course started in October so you may be too late now. If you can't get on the Day Skipper course, there's always flower arranging so at least the boat will look pretty.

hlb

RIP
Visit site
Many local night schools do courses on Day Skiper etc.
Its just a case of finding them.
I did mine in the middle of Lancashire 50 miles from the sea.
But then theres corispondence courses and you can always look in the boat mags, theres loads of adds in there.

Haydn

lanason

Visit site
I have tried searching for our a list local Adult Education courses - impossible everything else but. I just need to find the .com .org . something locally ...........

Tucepi

Visit site
Upton Marina (worcs) are organising a 5 day intensive RYA day skipper course starting 7th January. Approx. 9 till 5 every day with homework but at the end of the week its completed. Cost is approx £197 per person Inc. course pack and exam). Contact Upton Marina, Upton -on-Severn, Worcs.

G

Re: practical