Watering holes I can moor at near Poole

KenLee

Visit site
I'm new to Cobbs Quay. Can anyone advise any nice friendly pubs - that serve good food - that I can moor up at, and that are within the general vicinity, not too far from Poole?
Many thanks.

c_j

Visit site
What size boat?

It does depend.

If under 30FT then a trip up to Wareham is on the cards but check the tides and make sure you have plenty of water. NOw others on here will say that Wareham is fine for larger than 30 foot but as you do not know the area very well I would not reccomend.

I like Studland where the Banks Arms have courtesy mooring buoys and although they get busy it is a good anchorage at Studland. The pub is up the beach (south beach) which just happens to be the most southerly errrrr.... of the three beaches at Studland and up a little lane. Its a good Pub but I think the food expensive for a "Pub meal"

I also am keen on Lymmington where you can get alongside Town Quay or at least on one of the moorings close too and visit the Pub on the Quay.

The Shell Bay Bistro on the Studland side of Sanbanks chain ferry is good but not really a Pub an dof course you have Dolphin Haven or the Town Quay in Poole itself fo the many pubs on the Quay itself.

Many Pubs in Swanage but Never in an Easterly and if the bay looks deserted of fishing boats by the Pier then They expect an Easterly and have all gone round the back of Brownsea Island

Good Luck

CJ
chris@stone.uk.com

www.stone.uk.com

lanason

Visit site
Wareham quay is an excellent night stop over - if you can find space to moor.

There are two pubs on the Quay - the Granary does excellent food. There is also a nice chippie just up the road.
You can also have a nice walk down the Towpath back down the river towards Redcliffe. Or take the dinghy up river under the bridge exploring......

I spent ages there as a kid. We were moored at the quay when we heard the sad news that Earl Mountbatton had been murdered !!! That was a few years ago !!