Warranty & After Sales

G

Hi I am currently in my third year of my University Degree and as part of my disertation am looking at how the After sales and warranty service given by boat manufacturers influences further purchases. i.e. if you get good service will buy another boat from that manufacturer and if bad will you not.

In paticular I would like to hear some stories behind your answers etc and basically anything you may feel to be helpful to me. Do some companies go further than others in your experience? How quickly do you get responses? Many of you may have bad stories but I would also appreciate to hear the good ones as well.

<hr width=100% size=1>

BrendanS

Visit site
There's a big difference between manufacturer and dealers.

I'd recommend the manufacturer of my boat Regal to anyone. They have offered stunning service, and have repaired all sorts of stuff, even when you wouldn't have expected them.

They sent an engineer out from the US to handle repairs on several boats, and while he was working on mine noticed the CD/Radio was damaged, and ordered a new one from the US and fitted it. At the same time he replaced a battery operated Carbon Monoxide alarm with a new one that ran off the boat electrics. While fixing the original problem with the cuddy cabin filling with water, he went into the cuddy and cleaned all the fabric which had mildewed due to the water in there (I'd paid a fortune to have this professsionally done, and it wasn't a patch on what he did by hand). All of this was when the boat was about 3 years old.

Recently I'd guess they paid between 10 and 15k pounds to repair hull damage under a lifetime hull warranty.

Absolutely brilliant service, and I'd recommend Regal to anyone.