Transiting the Thames estuary

Tahitibelle

Visit site
I plan to sail towards Harwich from N.foreland next month (June). Which route would the east coaster 'jesters' et al suggest is best to follow, bearing in mind that we south coasters start twitching when we see the depth recorder showing 12m under the keel when there are seagulls standing upto their ankles 12m abeam. I shall sail in a 20', junk rig, bilge keeler and assume the weather and vis will no worse than mod.

Athene V30

Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria in Winter, the boat
Visit site
Leave Ramsgate at the start of the N stream and head to Long Outer at south end of Foulgers Gat, through the Gat and then from a couple of cables north of Long Sand Inner head up Black Deep towards Sunk Head, probably south of S Cork and east of Medusa up to Languard for Harwich.

I am not a proper Jester, just a 2012 wannabe but I do sail the East Coast waters!

If you have time do visit Brightlingsea and West Mersea.

Starfishbooks

www.starfishbooks.co.uk
Up to date chart is the best advice. Also liberal use of back bearings from the buoy you have just passed until you can identify your next mark helps you keep on track. You can be set by the tide quite quickly in some areas making buoy hopping great fun when you get a bit disorientated!

Your echosounder is the best instrument as you can follow a contour along the banks with ease. GPS is useful, but the banks do shift about a bit, so traditional methods turn out to be more use. The old Thames barge skippers used to use wave patterns and water colour to a large extent, but these skills have been sadly lost.

You can travel long distances with only a foot or two of water below the keel which is unnerving if you are not used to it.

From an ex Eastcoaster, now trying to cope with unexpected rocks in west wales!

Tahitibelle

Visit site