steel boat plans

trthebees

Visit site
I am going to SE Asia to live for a while, and plan to build a steel boat there. I'm thinking of a 25 to 30 ft mv or perhaps motor with aux sail. I know the area (very rural and poor communications), and would train some local people in steelwork (I am an engineer, and have worked for boatbuilders in UK). They need the work, and perhaps it could develop for them. It would be very helpful to have some boat plans and other information for guidance. and perhaps someone may have some spare which they would sell at a minimum cost. Thankyou.

<hr width=100% size=1>

circumnavigation

Jersey to Jersey via westward Circumnavigation
Visit site
Re: SE Asia

I am a World Bank Consultant for the Asia Pacific region with a UNEP position in Osaka for environmentally sound technologies. If you are intending to assist this community, funds could be available through the Asia Development Bank to the government concerned to be distributed to the appropriate authority in that country.

While I cannot assist directly with steel boat plans, Katoema is a steel ketch, I may be able to place you in touch with the government officials in the country where you are relocating to, with sound redevelopment advice.

Send a PM with the details.

<hr width=100% size=1>[http://www.mpcee.co.uk/katoema.html] link [/http://www.mpcee.co.uk/katoema.html]

richardandtracy

Visit site
If I remember rightly, there's a steel version of the 26ft Eventide YM plan yacht. Last time I enquired it was about £26 for the plans (early 1990's, so may be a bit more now). I think Phil Sheaf was offering it, but it was before I started on the internet and I can't really remember. I'll do some digging.

Is around £30 sufficiently 'minimal cost' for you?

Regards

Richard.

<hr width=100% size=1>

richardandtracy

Visit site
Ah.