Seamanship-lacking in yachting circles???

Merchant_Jack

Visit site
Im a bit new to this yachting lark, having bought a classic yacht to refit and restore only last year with a pretty girl. However I am a professional seaman with an average amount of seatime under me belt, so to speak. I have been shocked by the ignorance of many "sailors" regarding the foundations of good seamanship. I don't really refer to knots and such like but basic knowledge of the IRPCS, knowledge of basic meteorology and a regard to the use of safety systems. I understand that many sailors are technically part-timers, but anybody who puts a keel in the water should know what tunes the devil is playing. The merchant navy regards yachting personnel as "WAFI's", unfortunately, I am beginning to understand why. On the other hand everyone is very helpful! By the way, the yacht was expensive but the pretty girl was free.

Sgeir

s14.photobucket.com
Welcome. This forum is composed of a wide range - from people just starting to get into sailing, to others who've circumnavigated under sail. This is a good place to swap ideas and experiences and I'm sure they'll all be very interested in your observations as a professional seaman. BTW, good luck with the project.

jimbaerselman

www.jimbsail.info
Yachting is a broad church.

You'll find racers who think racing rules are the only IRPCS you need; ex merchant men who know them back to front but are lost without big radar screens; instructors who are incredibly hot on the details, but are not so hot at applying them in the stress of poor visibility and tired crews crossing busy shipping lanes in moderate visbility.

And for meteorology, watch out for those ex pilots who've lived in the stuff all their lives. Often they're a step ahead of the merchantmen. And the locals who know their local variations of swell or wind as well as any qualified pilot for those waters.