Red or white

didgerydoo2

Visit site
I am more than a little confused about wether I should use red or white diesel,allthough my local boat yard only sells white,I can still obtain red from Chandlers oil and gas.The only advice I have recieved is switch to white anyway because it is better fuel.I have a 24ft Seamaster with twin Leyland diesels om Enfield legs.I can`t afford an expensive rebuild so will white fuel prolong the life of my engines.All advice welcome.Paul.

cdogg

Visit site
What's the difference

Excuse my ignorance, but what is the difference between red and white? I only need a small top-up to keep the tank fuel over the winter, so I was just going to fill a can at the garage rather than move the boat, is this ok to do?

eurowolf

Visit site
taxation / use is the difference

Red diesel is for heating and agricultural use, taxes less than white
so unless you have a seperate tank for red and white. Using red for propulsion ( unless you are commercial) can result in hefty fines.

BoyBlue49

Visit site
RED or WHITE

This ever recurring debate never ceases to amaze me!!!!!!!

White diesel is the fuel you fill up at Tesco/Esso/Asda etc.

Red diesel has a dye added so that White Van Man can be easily cuffed at the road side for having duty free (almost) fuel in his tank as well as his digger and cement mixer.

Both mix as they are basically the same product, you won't notice any difference, nor will your engine.

Give it a few weeks and we will have the same questions again.

the_wanderer

Visit site
Not so.

Red diesel is for heating and agricultural use, taxes less than white
so unless you have a seperate tank for red and white. Using red for propulsion ( unless you are commercial) can result in hefty fines.