pre-catalysed lacquer

laika

Visit site
I have some pre-catalysed lacquer which is apparently suitable for my westerly interior woodwork. I have no experience with lacquer and very little with varnish. The spec sheet gives manufacturer's product code for thinners (NT2511 dual thinners) and cleaning (NT2015). I can't seem to find out what they are exactly and not sure where I could get those particular products from at short notice: I suspect the lack of info on those products might indicate that they're really something generic.

I have at my disposal: International #3 (antifoul) and #7 (epoxy) thinners, white spirit and acetone.

Q1: Anyone have suggestions for what to use for thinning (if necessary, see Q2) and, if different, brush cleaning? Bear in mind my ignorance so if recommending terafluropsychadipldicastrasaurus5oxy9Rtolluine thinner please qualify with "also known as Bob's Patent Thinner available from B&Q"

Q2: Recommendations for pre-cat lacquer application? grit for sanding? #of coats? Should the first coat be thinned like varnish?

My first task is, on the face of it, simple: coating teak plugs which were inserted after woodwork was disassembled and replaced. I'd rather not completely strip *everything* and am wondering if I can get away with feather edges around the plugs...

laika

Visit site