Policy Renewal Time Again

BrendanS

Visit site
<font color=blue>OK Q&S's. I'm not in the insurance market, so I'm not an expert, I just read a great deal, so take my answers in that light</font color=blue>

>>I appreciate that any business dependant upon the stock market will have had a rough time recently, but I do not remember a corresponding reductions in premiums when the stock market was soaring.<<

<font color=blue>The reductions were there, you just didn't see them. As I've said before, the premiums being charged, particularly in the areas like motor insurance were below sustainable levels</font color=blue>

I am not surprised that there are only two contributors to the forum who understand the insurance situation. It would be one sad yachting forum if we were all insurance experts.

<font color=blue>if people make no effort to understand what they are buying, they are going to suffer. How much effort do you put into buying a boat or car. I'd bet, if you are a fairly typical consumer, you research in depth. If you stand to lose the whole value of your boat or car if you have the wrong policy, which doesn't cover you for you typical use, do you go to the same effort to research the insurance you are buying, or just go for the cheapest</font color=blue>

As a consumer I do not wish to have a detailed knowledge of the financial structures in the insurance industry. I just want a policy that provides the cover I need at a fair and stable price.

<font color=blue> you shouldn't have to have a detailed knowledge, but it helps to explain why premiums are going up. People keep complaining about 15% to 130% premium increases on these forums, so I thought it might help to understand why they are increasing. The prices companies are charging might be fair. As to stable, that depends on the markets, and until someone comes up with a better system it's always going to vary according to the market.</font color=blue>