Please identify this mainsail furling system

Wandering Star

Visit site
Hi all, the Dufour 2800 sailing boat I’ve purchased comes with a in mast furling system. i’ve no experience of using one nor even of bending on the sail and running the lines correctly. The lines, halyards, outhaul and reefing lines are removed and replaced with mouses (mice). The blocks, sheets, slidey things are all present but need assembling. The previous owner passed away 4 years ago so I’ve no one to ask for help.

I believed the mast was replaced in 2012 but I’ve just heard from Selden and they confitm although the mast is theirs the furling system iisn’t theirs. ’d like to identify which make/model it is so I can try to find a user manual for it. I’m not on the boat until next week and only have a single photo of the reefing gear at the base of the mast plus another of the boat sailing with the original owner at the helm.

Any help identifying the system fro so few clues would be really appreciated.

Attachments

• 6605CCD8-F12E-42B6-A444-838EB534BA57.jpeg
    6605CCD8-F12E-42B6-A444-838EB534BA57.jpeg
    729.5 KB · Views: 94
  • 715ABBA4-8DA9-4582-9F67-B01A5C6481EF.jpeg
    715ABBA4-8DA9-4582-9F67-B01A5C6481EF.jpeg
    87.5 KB · Views: 91

Moonbeam

Visit site
Looks like an Easyreef behind mast retro fit.

We had one on our Konsort for 12 years. Once you have it set up right and learn how to use it properly, it's very simple and easy to use. We liked it a lot (but we were already in-mast converts) Lots of people will tell you to junk it. I would not be one of them.

Lots of things you need to get right before you will enjoy owning the system.

I'd start by removing the reefing line and giving it a good wash as it looks stiff and green. Log how many turns it has on the drum before you remove it.

Some tips...

Before hoisting the main... apply a silicone spray grease to upper halyard swivel and make sure it spins freely. Same with lower furling drum.