outboard choice - help!

akcabedo

Visit site
I own a Boston Whaler Outrage 19 with a blown 200 hp Merc. The engine is history but I want to keep using the boat (mostly fishing). As a poor artist I can't run to a new 200 and I've been offered a new 150 two stroke for around 6,000 pounds, (Still a bit much for me), however the dealer here has a new 115 hp merc at around 4,000 pounds, will it move the hull and how well. The hull weighs about a ton, plus the engine, plus around 150 lts of fuel and a couple of ample guys on board!?
Help/advice gratefully received.
Thanks
Adrian

<hr width=100% size=1>Adrian

DepSol

Visit site
Power to weight means you will lose out a little, however fuel economy should be better.

<hr width=100% size=1>Dom

2003 is going to be a good year for me

BarryH

Visit site
There's a couple on boats and outboards .com that may be of interest to you. Theres a 175 efi mariner for around the same money. Same as the merc, just a different paint job. Hope this helps a little.

<hr width=100% size=1>
captain.gif

akcabedo

Visit site
Thanks for comments. Is there some kind of fomula to work out how the hul will perform with different engines/props?

jfm

Visit site
The 115 will push it fine. Expect 33 knots flat out lightly loaded. £4000 is a very good price for that engine, if it's totally brand new. You could however get a 125 for about £4250 brand new, if you delete the fuel tank, and that would give you another knot. The 125 is the same engine, but bigger carb jets. However both those motors run the irritating 2+2 system, which means two cylinders cut in/out at about 2500rpm, so the throttle is a bit binary and it is hard/impossible to hold the boat at certain mid range speeds. This isn't a disaster, just an irritation. On the plus side, both are incredibly quiet and smooth motors, very economical, and fantastic starters. You will need a 19 inch prop imho.

<hr width=100% size=1>

DepSol

Visit site