Norway

G

We are planning a cruise to Norway starting May 2003. Our route is Stagvanger to Lofoten. If anyone is cruising that area during the person May - September 2003 or if anyone has cruised in the area and has any tips or special places to visit please get in touch! lizrobertson35@aol.com

Liz & Laurence
Tidos
Warrior 35

spannerman

Visit site
Hi Liz & Laurance, I am a Brit boat mechanic and have been living and working in Stavanger for the pasy 7 yrs. You are undoubtedly coming to one of Europes best kept secrets in the cruising world. ( see my letter in MBY aug or sept '02 on Norway) I have only been as far as Bergen by sea but there is so much to see here, its usually calm seas as you are protected inside the islands from swells. Make sure you have a set of what is called SportMaps, we sell them where I work and a good depth sounder, its not dangerous here but a little local knowledge helps as there are channels between islands you should use and SHOULDN'T use.
Its very geared up for boating here as nearly everyone has a boat, if you require more info you can contact me direct on sentinel@c2i.net, maybe get to meet you in May,

regards Steve

G

We live on the route (Kristiansund). I went to Lofoten last June.

Main issues:

1. Lack of wind - ended up sailing maybe 30%.
2. Lots of places to visit - especially Lofoten. Main thing is to allow time - which you seem willing to do.
3. Needed a binimi! - it was scorching last June.
4. Good weather reports online. I use my laptop + hi-speed GSM phone card. http://www.dnmi.no/english/maritime/index.html is good.
5. The navigation is 90% pilotage - good charts needed and available, don't skimp. C-map chips very good, but expensive.
6. Food choice is better than it used to be in larger towns. Beer is not wholly unreasonable. Wine is expensive. Spirits very expensive. Eating out makes you weep if not on expenses. There's a pub every 50 miles or so if you are lucky.
7. Great place for hill walking and being alone!