MOB recovery ladders deployed from the water: do they work?

chubby

www.flickr.com
Has anyone fitted the sort of folded MOB ladders you can deploy from the water and do they work in practice and any particular make recommended? Don`t ask why I am interested!

KeelsonGraham

Visit site
I’ve no experience of them, but I do have plenty of experience of being dunked in very cold seas for half and hour or more at a time. Even with top notch survival gear its a test of stamina. Hands become useless very quickly.

So, I can’t see how a casualty in UK waters at any time other than high summer would have the strength and dexterity to use a flimsy MOB ladder after anything more than a few minutes in the water. In my view our best recovery aid is our electric winch.

Refueler

Visit site
I’ve no experience of them, but I do have plenty of experience of being dunked in very cold seas for half and hour or more at a time. Even with top notch survival gear its a test of stamina. Hands become useless very quickly.

So, I can’t see how a casualty in UK waters at any time other than high summer would have the strength and dexterity to use a flimsy MOB ladder after anything more than a few minutes in the water. In my view our best recovery aid is our electric winch.

Having done survival course in Plymouth Sound in January .... and also fallen into Bembridger Hbr in early summer many years later - BOTH had similar effect :

Legs and lower torso quickly become numb and useless .... arms start to ache .... ability to climb - even if ladder is stiff and deep enough is extremely doubtful ...

fredrussell

Visit site
In summer/autumn months the only thing that’s going to be any use at all if you’re on you’re own is a decent fold down ladder that extends AT LEAST 3 rungs below the water.

peter gibbs

Visit site