Local discrimination

Freedom machine

Visit site
Hi new to the forum, thanks for having me :)

I'm posting this on the liveaboard link because i thought this maybe an issue all to familiar with liveaboards in general.
I would like to become a full time liveaboard in the near future as im still saving for a mortgage but i would consider buying a used swan instead one day if house prices dont freefall in the next decade.
Anyway, i live in cornwall and get turned away constantly for moorings i never ever ask for residential moorings because its an instant no.
Sometimes i like to stay aboard for the odd night as its a great place for me to relax, having ocd can get too much sometimes and sailing has really helped me channel my longterm interest in boats and allows me to find peace. im an engineer at heart and i love to do the maintanance involved in boating. To be fair i love pretty much everything about sailing except one thing... The complete idiots running the moorings.

Could you imagine that, when enquiring to increase my 6 month winter mooring to a full year and pay for a tender berth i would downnosed in favour of non existant tourism, in the middle of a lockdown?
I currently pay £400+ and was given free use of the tender pontoon as a freebie by a cool member of staff, but when speaking to another senior position and offering to pay £1600+ for the year including a year tender berth i was refused!
In my eyes that has to be financial suicide?
If i were running the business id be dragging that employ in for a disciplinary and arranging training every monday morning and friday afternoon.
His reasoning was they simply dont want locals and want tourist money instead.
I feel this is both an insult to locals and also to the tourists as they are footing the bill for moorings and dinghy berths to lie empty for 9 months of the year.