I think I put my shunt on the wrong way round

mikecontessa26

New member
Joined
23 Jul 2008
Messages
248
Visit site
I've just finished connecting up my new Victron Battery Monitor which seems to work great apart from the fact that it's all the wrong way round. When I turn on loads of power it says the batteries will last for infinity and when i charge the batteries it says they will last 200hrs.

Am I right in assuming i've connected the shunt the wrong way round and just need to rotate it.

How stupid... it didn't make it clear in the installation instructions there was a right and wrong way /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif
 

Evadne

Active member
Joined
27 Feb 2003
Messages
5,752
Location
Hampshire, UK
Visit site
A shunt is usually a resistor and can go in either way around. are you sure it's not in parallel instead of in series (or vice versa)?
Or, more likely, that your measuring points are across the battery instead of across the shunt?
 

CPD

Well-known member
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Messages
2,990
Location
Hampshire
Visit site
It sounds like the two wires measuring voltage drop (and therefore current through) over the shunt may need to be swapped round.

Also, have you checked that you have programmed the unit with the AH capacity of the battery it is measuring ?.
 

mikecontessa26

New member
Joined
23 Jul 2008
Messages
248
Visit site
Can you please explain, the shunt connects to the negative wire of the battery, you basically split that wire and instert the shunt across them, basically i just need to switch those wires to the oposite poles on the shunt and it should all be ok? thats what i thought anyway, it can be the only thing thta s wrong, i have put the correct battery bank size in. It also reads negative drains when they should be positive etc.

Victron should have made it clearer on the shunt which way round to put it.

Thanks, i'll try switching it round at the weekend.
 

DipperToo

Active member
Joined
7 Jan 2005
Messages
673
Location
Now a formal berth at Northney
Visit site
Had exactly the same problem several months ago when I fitted a Victron monitor - just change the negative connections round (main cables). Leave the monitor wires 'as are' as they just plug into the shunt using an RJ45 connector.

Great value monitor and works well once set up.
 

damo

New member
Joined
22 Feb 2005
Messages
3,429
Location
k keeper,Portishead
longkeel35.org.uk
Phew, for one horrible moment I thought you were referring to a climbing shunt /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif If you got that upside down you wouldn't stop until you hit the floor1
21-4030.gif
 
Top