How secure is your ownership?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yachtpilot

Visit site
I recently suffered a considerable loss following the actions of the joint owner of our Rampart 48 motor yacht. Representing herself as sole owner when registering the MY with the SSR without my knowledge, she had a registration certificate issued in only her name. Recently, without my knowledge, the MY was listed on an auction site and sold for a sum well below the true value of the vessel. To date, I've not received any funds and the monies due to me resulting from the sale are very significantly less than would have been the case had the vessel been marketed responsibly. I have no knowledge of the current whereabouts of the person responsible. We might believe that this would be impossible but it maybe it's worth checking that, as a joint owner, your boat is still where you left it :>)

Minerva

Visit site
Presumably that’s straight up fraud / theft and something the police would be taking action on..?

penfold

Visit site
Doesn't seem worth the effort of disappearing for so little money. It's hard for people to disappear, if they have a reasonably uncommon name 192 searches will show a trail. If they are Joan Smith then a tracing agent might be worth the money. If you can substantiate your co-ownership I'd be going to the police and thence to ebay who obviously hold information about the fraudster. Do you have any knowledge of them that you can verify independently, i.e. is anything they've told you not cobblers?

yachtpilot

Visit site
I guess you can’t claim on insurance that your half of the boat has been stolen.
Thats shocking!
From your previous post you are a recent owner. I wonder if it was a well setup scam from the start.