Hold on everybody I’ve got a plan

Onemorething…

Visit site
Hi everyone - naive, hopeful and optimistic newbie here.

I’ll get to the point… I have found a permanent residential mooring on the Thames - an affluent area, place of beauty etc.

It is a permanent shoreline mooring (I think the council own the concrete steps and the canal trust own the river, and the moorings are privately owned - not 100per cent sure). It is equipped with electric only, no water but that’s fine. It is hugely important that I keep the aesthetics of the area in keeping.

My plan :

Buy a static 30 ft x 12 foot static caravan-bolt to an aluminium frame/pontoon/floor.

At this point it would look terrible, so I’d
insulate it etc and shroud it in very nice aesthetically pleasing real wood cladding so the actual static caravan would not be seen at all from the outside. I would also do something to the roof eg shingles, rubber etc on top of the existing roof for protection / warmth etc and also to make sure it is classy /in keeping / and finished to a high standard.

It would be driven very seldomly by a 15hp (more?) outboard engine prob 5 -10 miles max.

Questions:

Does this idea need planning permission before I went ahead from the local authorities (which one?)

What are the legalities of the distance from the waterline to the bottom of the front door distance / regulations -etc so I don’t get flooded, stay safe etc

The aluminium floating pontoon will hold 8.2 tonnes at 76 percent immersion and 6.8 tonnes at 58 percent. The pontoon will cost approx £13 k apparently.

I can research how to insulate / get weights of the contents of the boat etc but my main concern is if I’d be allowed to do it at all. I don’t want to upset the new neighbours with a monstrosity but I don’t think it would be tbh if planned properly.