Help please - cruiser wanted; advice needed!!!

ossian72

Visit site
So... my planned purchase of a Swift 18 fell through at the weekend and so
instead of feeling sorry for myself I am trying to put a positive spin on it and am hoping to find something even better!!!

The problem is I am a born-again newbie (I crewed a 60ft ketch for 6 months a lifetime ago as a teenager; and since then have only pottered about in a cack-handed fashion in Picos and occasionally fallen out of Lasers)...

What I want is a cruiser which:

- Costs between £4 and £5k
- Will be stable, safe and unsinkable
- Can accommodate two adults and two small children. Preferably we’d be able to squeeze in and camp in her for max one night to make the weekend stretch... if I would squash 3 small children in like I do in my Campervan I wouldn’t have to leave anyone with grandparents!!!
- Has a lifting keel so we’re not such a hostage to the tides...
- Is easy to maintain
- Is simple and quick to rig. I know it is all relative, but I’m learning pretty much from scratch so need something fairly idiot proof...

Depending on what I get I’ll be keeping her at Hayling Island/Chichester way, pottering around those waters initially. All things being equal, I’d like to keep on a mooring for the season then perhaps trail home for the winter (using a Volvo XC90)

I’m sure there are a million things I should mention to help you help me, but... any thoughts/suggestions????

Many thanks in advance

Kelpie

Visit site
Unsinkable narrows it down a lot. It's an unusual feature because it has been found not to be necessary, nor to be particularly useful- except in open boats.