Help needed! Aiming to liveaboard in Southdown marina - what do I do with my holding tank?

BoatKate

Visit site
Hi everybody!

My husband and I are looking to liveaboard in the Southwest and are complete novices (unless you count dinghy sailing as a teenager). I'm a bit confused about the holding tank! It looks like there are only two marinas in the Plymouth/Torpoint area which have pump out services and they are both a bit bigger and more expensive than we'd like.

Do people use a leesan type self pump out system? Or are they all just go ashore?

Any advice welcome! Would love to hear from anyone with experience of Southdown marina.

Lucy52

Visit site

nortada

Visit site
Hi,

Welcome back to sailing and we’ll come to the forum.

From experience, when ever possible folk use the facilities on shore but you can be caught short.

If there is no pump out facilities, which is often the case, a short sail is the only remaining alternative.

Best of luck with your new adventure.

N

jordanbasset

Visit site
Hi everybody!

My husband and I are looking to liveaboard in the Southwest and are complete novices (unless you count dinghy sailing as a teenager). I'm a bit confused about the holding tank! It looks like there are only two marinas in the Plymouth/Torpoint area which have pump out services and they are both a bit bigger and more expensive than we'd like.

Do people use a leesan type self pump out system? Or are they all just go ashore?

Any advice welcome! Would love to hear from anyone with experience of Southdown marina.
Not sure if you have a boat and if it has a holding tank, but from my experience in practise most people use the facilities ashore for when they want to do a proper job. They empty the holding tank if it just contains urine
Not sure of the legality of that, but it is what a lot of people do.

Yngmar

Visit site