Happy birthday to me.

A

Alcyone

I am one year old today.

I joined this forum exactly a year ago. A couple of weeks later, Graham took me sailing down to Penarth. We first saw 'Ishtar', then Peptimus about the same time:

louyacht.jpg

We bought her a month later, and Graham snapped a few shots of her being launched at CBYC before we brought her to CYC, in the last days of May.

We did just under 200 miles last year, mainly in the bay, with a trip to Watchet late in the year, again with Graham on Banjo.

We've so far done 550 miles this year and visited Watchet, Portishead and Ilfracombe, with a few nights at anchor.

Just a short post to thank all here for the advice and encouragement and to say to anyone else thinking of taking up sailing......

Just do it.

A

Alcyone

Cheers, Matt.

I've been diving West Wales, and Ramsey Sound for 20 years this year, and I still don't 'know' the waters.......

I'm hoping that by the end of this year, I may know 'a bit' about the Bristol channel, but we'll see.

Anyway, it's about time you started coming with us.

Cheers!

Sailing_Matt

Visit site
Hoping for my first ever sail in my boat tomorrow. Weather is supposed to be great but not much wind. Great conditions for a beginner like me.

Just gaining some confidence out there and I will be on your tail soon...

Hope you have a good weekend.

graham

Visit site
Looks like it went well Matt /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif. I took these stood outside CBYC.
002-1.jpg

005-1.jpg

008.jpg

014.jpg

Sailing_Matt

Visit site
Thanks for taking those pics Graham, nice to see the boat sailing finally. I've noticed Banjo on the moorings at CBYC, she looks a great boat. I had followed your adventures on your previous on your blog hoping I would one day buy a boat and get out there! I've met lots of forumites over the last year.