Fitting a Fuel guage

woody001

New member
Joined
12 Aug 2004
Messages
1,208
What would i do without all your help!??

Thinking of fitting a fuel guage to my rrrr diesel/fuel tank.
How do i do this?

I can't take the tank out, what do i use and how can i achieve this?



Kind regards

simon
 

woody001

New member
Joined
12 Aug 2004
Messages
1,208
Hi philip,

The link does not work iam afraid - cookie error.

Just been on there site - i gather it's the "E50334 12 volt diesel level meter"??

Thanks phillip

Have you installed one, how easy it is?


simon
 

steve28

Active member
Joined
19 May 2003
Messages
1,480
Location
Cornwall
the rod type sensors are very good, needs a hole about 1 1/2 inches in diameter for the float to pass through, you get a gasket and some self tapping screws and the wiring is easy.
Just buy the length of rod to suit the depth of tank.

steve
 

philip_stevens

Active member
Joined
16 May 2001
Messages
3,854
Location
live near Saint Ives, Cornwall.
I've not fitted one as I cannot get to the top of my tank, and cannot move it either - at the moment.

A thought occured to me. As it uses an air pressure to operate the sensor, why can't it be fitted externally to a T connector. The same pressure as is in the tank is apparent outside the tank when connected to the outlet.

I will contact the company to find out if this is feasable. If so, I may fit one myself.
 

Ardenfour

Member
Joined
7 Feb 2004
Messages
947
Location
Port Bannatyne
following on from fitting externally, would a simple piece of clear hose, mounted on a scale and calibrated not do the job? Would have to be same level as the tank, obviously...
 

philip_stevens

Active member
Joined
16 May 2001
Messages
3,854
Location
live near Saint Ives, Cornwall.
That's my basic option, but as I have a motor sailer, I would like to have the readout/indicator up on the drive position. I can think of no reason why the electronic/pressure unit cannot be fitted externally.

I will contact the company mentioned and put it to them.
 

Strathglass

New member
Joined
16 May 2001
Messages
2,197
Location
Fife
I fitted one through a hole in the top of the tank .
It is similar to a car one with a float on an arm. Works fine.

Got all the bits including the gauge from ASAP.

Iain
 

pvb

Well-known member
Joined
16 May 2001
Messages
45,688
Location
UK East Coast
Both links work...

ASAP registered both URLs. More companies might usefully register a variety of variations of their URL.
 
Top