Diving in the Caribbean

richardh10

Visit site
Think I might have a bash at learning to dive when I get over to the Caribbean this winter. Any recommendations for schools. We’re talking total novice here.

Thanks

capnsensible

Visit site
I learnt at the school in Jolly Harbour, Antigua. Was very good. Also took some people to try their first dive at a school in Bequia. Brit run and excellent. :encouragement:

jdc

Visit site
in winter 2016/17 I dived in Grenada, Cariacou, Bequi, Martinique, St Lucia, Dominica and Montserrat. I can dig out the actual dive sites and phone numbers with a week's notice - PM if you want them - but my impressions were as follows:

Grenada (Scubatech, Prickly Bay): Really excellent and the lowest cost anywhere. Nitrox zero cost adder, not that this is relevant to a beginner, but they are very good with novices or the less confident.
Cariacou (Lumbadive): very friendly and anxious to be helpful, great diving.
Bequi (Dive Bequia): I wrote a poor trip advisor on this outfit, the only time I've ever posted not so good stuff, as I found their attitude and equipment to be sloppy. However, looking at more recent posts it seems that they may have sharpened up. The diving is wonderful.
Martinique (Deep turtle plongée): Loved it and very good value. French equipment and to CMAS rather than PADI 'rules' but none the worse for that. Relaxed but professional. I gave it 5 stars.
St Lucia (Scuba Steve's): very, very professional but friendly. I did 10 dives with them, including a PADI course, which says a lot. Good kit, good dive leaders, amazing sites.