Cutlass bearing

Daydream believer

Visit site
My yacht has a sail drive so I have no experience of them since my last Stellas.
However, I have just bought a launch from the Royal Corinthian YC which I have bought for use by my sailing club to place moorings & general club duties etc.

The cutlass bearing seems to be a Manecraft Deep Sea seal by Norris but their site does not have details of it. There is clearly some misalignment, as when I leave the boat the seal leaks very badly. But if I gently rotate the shaft I can find a point where it slows to a tiny drip.
When the engine is running the plumber block seems to be shot so need replacing because at slow revs the Beta engine jumps about all over the place & the shaft moves violently from side to side. At higher revs it runs smooth with less vibration.I will deal with this later when we have finished laying our moorings in a months time. Currently it has just started to " graunch" badly as if running metal to metal, but we cannot spend time removing now as mooring holders need their moorings in otherwise the club cannot move the cruisers for the dinghies to park

What I would like to know is---is there is any adjustment on the bearing seal. There are a number of jubilee clips plus another around the shaft just in front of the rubber but it is round the shaft & does not seem to be doing anything.there is also a red label saying only remove in emergency Why? Can I tighten anything to stop the leak? there is a water hose leading to well above water line but no grease point

Any advice appreciated

Last edited:

pvb

Visit site
The cutlass bearing seems to be a Manecraft Deep Sea seal by Norris but their site does not have details of it. There is clearly some misalignment, as when I leave the boat the seal leaks very badly. But if I gently rotate the shaft I can find a point where it slows to a tiny drip.

That isn't a cutlass bearing, it's a shaft seal. Take a look at http://www.deepseaseals.com/about/

Daverw