Could I keep a Princess 32 on London canals?

boyonaboat

Visit site
Hello people,

I am new to boating so I will likely ask some stupid questions, I am just very excited to buy my first boat and I would love to hear any feedback you can give!

I'm hoping to buy a Princess 32 to live in, along the inland waterways in London.. particularly, the Regents Canal, the River Lea and the Grand Union Canal.
The plan is to convert the wheel house roof and windscreens so that I can lower / remove them when needed to clear low bridges.
Does anyone have any advice on how this might best be achieved and what costs I might be looking at? Could it be D.I.Y'ed by someone with basic carpentry skills?

My second biggest concern of keeping a Princess 32 on canals, is the twin engines. I am looking at a couple potential boats, both have twin diesel Perkins. one has 4107s, the other has 4108s..
Do you think twin engines will be too much power for the canal's 4mph (approx) speed limits? Could we alternatively run it on an auxiliary outboard when we're cruising on the canals?

Lastly, can anyone think of any other reason why a Princess 32 might not be suited to canal life? or might it just maybe all work out?

Thanks in advance for any support, much appreciated!!!

PlanB

Visit site
You need to look at the draft (3ft IIRC) vs the depth of the canals you want to use. This could be a serious issue, as some canals are not much deeper than that. You have already spotted the air draft problem and I would strongly recommend that you research bridge heights in your hoped-for cruising area, then work out whether the design of the boat makes it possible to reduce the height appropriately..
You are not going to be doing the engines any good going at 4pm long term. Some people use them alternately, but it's not ideal. I've not come across anyone using an aux outboard.
As regards living aboard. check the rules for black and grey waste and whether your chosen boat could comply.

Visit site