Computer Tips for slow learners.

graham

I have recently discovered that holding down Alt then pressing 2 4 8 one at a time gives you a degree sign (usefull if making waypoint lists ,courses etc ) eg 51°26.45N

Also discovered about 2 minutes ago that F5 refreshes a webpage.

There must be loads of other self taught computer semiliterates like me out there so what tips can you clever guys give us.

BrendanS

Gosh, there are all sorts. I posted a tips page a while back, I'll see if I can find it again.

One of the most useful for me is resizing text by holding down CTRL and then using the mouse scroll wheel. very useful on sites with small text (doesn't work on all sites)

BrendanS

lockwood

Rather then use IE (Internet Explorer) why not try Firefox instead. It has a built in pop up blocker, renders pages faster and has a nifty feature called TABBED BROWSING.

It also is a lot more secure as most spyware is written specifically for IE.

Its free and has a facility to add free plug-ins. I have just installed an auto refresh option on my browser. No more F5'ing for me.

try it - you won't go back http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/

graham

Re: Winkey?

At the risk of some pi$$ taking why havent I got a WINKEY

Lots of the shortcuts seem to need one?

lockwood

A winkey is the key (usually at the bottom left of a modern AT keyboard) with the picture of the windows logo

BrendanS

Here's a look up table for other ASCII codes to make signs by holding down ALT and typing number (scroll down to second table). Some people might find they have to use number pad on right hand side of keyboard to make these work in some browsers and applications, as top number keys don't always work

http://www.lookuptables.com/

If the NUM LOCK is on, hold ALT and press 248 on the num pad

With NUM LOCK off, hold ALT and SHIFT then hit 248 on the num pad etc etc