Complete Beginner - Help please!

Eric_Cartman

Visit site
Hello all,

I'm a little apprehensive as this is my first ever posting - Doh! My username's only an hour old and already I've encountered problems updating my profile!

Briefly I'm 26 from Southampton and have next to no experience of motorboating yet I've been eager to take my first tentavie steps since age 3!

With the absense of a girlfriend (come on now - ahhhh...) I've decided to start some proper research to absorb every spare cent I earn! Despite the lack of experience I've a reasonable grasp of the basics and I'm looking for something along the lines of a Sealine 240 to start the ball rolling.

In your opinion would this be a suitable first craft? I'm mainly interested in cruising the Hampshire coast along with the odd visit to a Cowes establishment offering libation!

Also, could you offer any guidance regarding the likely maintenance costs of such a beast? You'd be surprised how difficult it is to find out.

Any help would be most gratefully received, enthusiasm alone won't get me afloat else!

Kind regards

James Robinson

PS. I'm not sure if any of you are familiar with a site called Pprune, but it looks remarkably like this! (or at least an aviation equivalent)

<hr width=100% size=1>

tcm

Visit site
hi james/eric

No girlfriend - very wise.

sealine 240 is fine - most boats available on the market are bought as 1st boats - there's no really unbelievably obvious "novice" range of boats, and then a whole load of other "higher grade" boats which look the same but cost 9 times as much, like perhaps in fishing gear, for example. Smaller ones are less of a financial burden, but larger ones handle more easily. Boats are all made in a similar fashion, theres a narrow range of engne manufacturers, and boats cost more or less depending on spec, quantity and quality of gear and fitout on board.