combining electronic systems?

akirk

New member
Joined
13 May 2007
Messages
131
Visit site
What is the most anyone has combined into one system?

presumably it should technologically be possible to combine AIS & Radar & Plotter & GPS & Navtech etc. so that as you sail along you can see on the map the weather warnings, intelligent use of the AIS with radar to confirm whether ships are moving or not etc.

also, what about combining Google Earth with plotters / depth sounders etc.

should end up with a very impressive system (or one which never works!)
 

tome

New member
Joined
28 Mar 2002
Messages
8,201
Location
kprick
www.google.co.uk
Great idea

We have a central heating system which has gas, oil and electricity as energy feeds. The central controller is connected via broadband to the internet and checks spot prices before choosing which fuel to select for the current demand. Works a treat, though it's bloody chilly in here at the moment

Google earth with grib downloads is promised in the next update so that the system becomes predictive. Ok, it's expensive but our grandchildren should reap the benefit easily
 
G

Guest

Guest
You forgot the autopilot and gyro. It is no good having all that information if you leave it up to the skipper to make a decision of where to go.
 

akirk

New member
Joined
13 May 2007
Messages
131
Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
...and checks spot prices before choosing which fuel to select for the current demand. Works a treat, though it's bloody chilly in here at the moment

[/ QUOTE ]

That's because you are too stingy to set a decent minimum price at which to buy fuel - off you go, back to Oxfam to buy another jumper /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
 

akirk

New member
Joined
13 May 2007
Messages
131
Visit site
What I am working on though is internet grocery shopping - combined with one of those fridges where you scan the barcode as you use the food - combined with the plotter and GPS, waitrose should turn up on the port side with my weekly shopping /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
 

FullCircle

Well-known member
Joined
19 Nov 2003
Messages
28,220
Visit site
Heres mine, and none of it works......


FCInstruments.jpg
 

akirk

New member
Joined
13 May 2007
Messages
131
Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
I think thjat may be because none of th lines reach the instruments therefore no connection /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

neh, it is that box bottom left which has not been wired in - it is the battery /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif
 

fireball

New member
Joined
15 Nov 2004
Messages
19,453
Visit site
Ah, it's only because he's trying to feed information into other instruments that really don't give a dam about anything other than their specific purpose... with the exception of the Autohelm which is sulking because it is the only Raymarine display ...
I don't see a GPS unit on there though - so none of the other instruments know where they are ... which is why the signal from the other instruments can get to them... /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
 

Sixpence

Active member
Joined
24 Aug 2005
Messages
28,978
Location
Here, yah fule
Visit site
On the Ostende trip some units were talking to others so we played with the wiring and different ones started talking to each other while others decided they wouldn't chat anymore , a bit like having an online forum in the cockpit I suppose . A bit of competition to see who would ignore who really
 
Top