Colregs, Three longish blasts?

Baddox

Visit site
Sitting in the marina at weekend we watched a cruise ship slip her lines. As she eased away from the wharf she let out three longish (four second) blasts on her horn, and repeated this about half a mile down river. Was the signal just a crowd pleaser chosen because it has no meaning to mariners, or does it have some significance that I’ve missed in all the colregs I studied?

Leighb

Visit site
It seems to be something that cruise ships do when departing. We go to Madeira each February and all the cruise ships do a lot of hooting on departure, if there is more than one in port they all reply, it can get rather too much at times.

Fourbees

Visit site
I think they just do it to show off. They clearly don't mean that their engines are running astern, which is the only official manning of three (short) blasts.

Baddox

Visit site
I think they just do it to show off. They clearly don't mean that their engines are running astern, which is the only official manning of three (short) blasts.

At about four seconds each, these were definitely longer than three short blasts meaning operating astern propulsion. The second time, coincided with passing a quay busy with people so I guess it’s just an audible version of waving goodbye.

little_roundtop

tntatsea.wordpress.com
Sitting in the marina at weekend we watched a cruise ship slip her lines. As she eased away from the wharf she let out three longish (four second) blasts on her horn, and repeated this about half a mile down river. Was the signal just a crowd pleaser chosen because it has no meaning to mariners, or does it have some significance that I’ve missed in all the colregs I studied?

We get many cruise ships in Agios Nikoloas on Crete in the summer. They all do something similar when leaving though there doesn't seem to be a recognisable signal, they all use something slightly different. I've always assumed it's just a "goodbye and thanks" signal.

snowleopard