Cardiff Marina to Uphill Marina - Newbie Help Please

NewbieNelson

Visit site
Hi All,

I have my Halcyon23 a 23ft sailing boat moored in Cardiff Marina. I am planning to move her across the Bristol Channel to Uphill Marina, in Somerset this coming Monday afternoon. Is there anything I should be weary of and watchful for. I am a newbie in the sailing world and this will be my first major trip. I will only be motoring across the channel as I need some mast work done and cannot put up the sails. Any help or advice would be gratefully appreciated. I have already found out that I need to contact the Barrage to raise the Pont y Werin when leaving the berth. Then contact them to open the barrage, but that's all I know.

Attachments

• 448194777_10234324119744130_3895575864904051759_n.jpg
    448194777_10234324119744130_3895575864904051759_n.jpg
    768.7 KB · Views: 17

graham

Visit site
Hi . you can only get into uphill close to High tide . I would recommend arriving in the River Axe about 1 hour before High tide. All the berths dry out .

There is a buoyed channel from out in Weston Bay that leads you into the river.
Definitely dont attempt to go in once the ebb tide has started. You will be fighting a strong current and shallow water getting shallower quickly.

Weston Bay can be rough with.a fresh wind blowing in pick a quiet day with light wind and suitable tide times.

PS monday forecast is currently predicting Wly winds up to 23 knots ,this is not suitable for a beginner doing that passage.

I strongly recommend you try and get an experienced person to help, the Bristol Channel can be a dangerous place for the unwary.

Last edited:

NewbieNelson

Visit site
Hi . you can only get into uphill close to High tide . I would recommend arriving in the River Axe about 1 hour before High tide. All the berths dry out .

There is a buoyed channel from out in Weston Bay that leads you into the river.