Can a boat have too many mooring lines?

westhinder

Visit site
Do I have too many mooring lines? The boat is currently moored with two breast ropes and two springs. Only one of these is a line I use in my home marina. So I have three more in the cockpit locker. In addition I have at least six more ropes varying in length from six to 65 meters, some of them with an eye splice. Most of these came with the boat when I bought her 13 years ago, and a number have never been used in my ownership. I did have a clear out in the spring and took three or four more ropes home, intending to throw them away, but they are still in the shed.
I have always heard a boat can’t have too many ropes, but now I am in doubt.
What do the learned folk on this forum think?

Gustywinds

Visit site
I’m new to this game but I wouldn’t have thought you could have too many as long as you know where they are and you inspect them regularly to ensure they are usable if you need them. My boat came with 6 lines which are nominally 8 metres although two are slightly shorter. I’ve bought two more longer (12m) ones on advice from someone used to doing locks solo.
storage for them is a minor worry compared with the number of fenders, the plank, spare diesel jerrycan, two bikes ( one electric folding), bike trolley, rubber tender ( which I’m thinking of getting rid of) and the stern anchor ( which the previous owner never used and stashed way and I am inclined to offload).

justanothersailboat

Visit site
I do think you can have too many old lines. Once you start pulling them out and thinking "what the heck is this" rather than "I know what that's good for" I think it's time for a tidy. You should still have plenty of spares once sorted. (edited to add: in a good range of length distributions. Surprising numbers of previous owners' lines are just a bit too short)

Chiara’s slave

Visit site