Buying a sailboat in EU & bringing to Northern Ireland? VAT implications?

D4vy

Visit site
I don’t think this question has been asked before, at least if it had I can’t find it.

I’m a resident of Northern Ireland and wish to buy a EU VAT paid sailing boat in Norway.

Am I liable for vat or does ‘notice 8‘ which is very grey keep me exempt?

I can’t seem to find any evidence one way or another.

Thanks

Tranona

Visit site
Norway is not in the EU VAT area and NI is in the UK VAT area so any import from Norway will attract VAT.

However you are right to ask the question - it has been asked before (in relation to the EU) but there does not seem to be a definitive answer., maybe because nobody has tried it yet and reported what happened. The definitive answer, if there is one can only come from HMRC.

D4vy

Visit site
I understand that Norway isn't in the EU but the boat I saw was EU Vat paid, as is a few others i'm looking at in Greece &Sweden.

There are many posts asking about buying an EU boat and bringing it to the UK, but in this case its definitely not the same as NI is its own entity and it has a special exemption from what I can read.

lustyd

Visit site
You could campaign for a vote on joining the single market, otherwise yes pay the VAT.

Tranona

Visit site
I understand that Norway isn't in the EU but the boat I saw was EU Vat paid, as is a few others i'm looking at in Greece &Sweden.

There are many posts asking about buying an EU boat and bringing it to the UK, but in this case its definitely not the same as NI is its own entity and it has a special exemption from what I can read.