Atlantis 47 2007 ex-charter with 840 hours per engine - is 840 too many hours ?

prinex

Visit site
I have been offered a Atlantis 47 coming from a Yacht Charter agency gone broke - the bank is selling the assets. The price is around 100.000 Euro (72.000 UKP).

This is a 2006 vessel, it has been refitted before sale (there is a long list of things done like gelcoat repair, major engine mainteinance, ordinary genset maintenaince and so on). looks great *but* engines have 840 hours each. Engines are Volvo D9 575.

As I have no experience with big PS Diesel (my actual boat has a 100 PS Deutz engine that runs since 20 years, has thousand of hours and never gave a single issue) - what is the expected life of such engines ?

Basically I want to avoid buying a boat which is just on the verge of a engine redo.

Jurgen

Visit site
I would be more interested in seeing a bag full of maintenance receipts, without that I would be very wary. 840 hours over 8 is years is not that bad, many non charter boats can get 100 hours per year so no drama as long as maintenance has been fastidious.

Visit site
Not in my opinion. Its much better than the other way around providing service support evidence is there. Buy a full survey, if so far so good, get fluids analysis completed from samples taken at the end of the sea trial. In addition to surveyor, get Mr Volvo along on the trial to acquire and report on temps, fuel burn etc data. Then read reports objectively and proceed from there. Sounds easy?

D

Deleted User YDKXO