Antares 7.80 or Merry Fisher 755

ST840

Visit site
Having just sold my S28 I am looking at either of the title mentioned boats. I have no experience in either of them although I think they utilise the same hull?
Any reviews or experience of them would be greatly received !! Thanks in advance .
PS on a sea trial they seemed to be a lot more noises on the hill than my sealine, is this normal and have I just been spoilt with the S28 build quality?

Cbjroms

Visit site
If you do a search on the forum there was a really good thread a few weeks ago on Antares vs Merry Fisher and it explained the common manufacturing facility and difference in fit-outs. There were some excellent and knowledgeable comments which I found, when comparing the MF645 with the Antares, to be absolutely spot-on.

LadyJ

Visit site
Agree with comment re other threads. Great comments within these.
Re boats, completely down to personal taste with the layout. I looked at both and went with 755 due to factory fit bow thruster (wasn't available on the 7.80 in 2015 spec but may have changed) and the forward facing capability of the table seats.
Enjoy whatever you decide.
From my experience the noise in a wheel house is always more pronounced than an open boat but the benefits IMO compensate but there is a utilitarian style to these boats that you can't get away from. I did put carpets down that has dampened this but not to everyone's taste.

Mango

Visit site
I've just ordered an Antares 7.80. The merryfisher fisher 755 is no longer in production having been replaced by the 795 which was more expensive with less standard kit. I preferred to order a fully loaded antares than a basic merry fisher for my budget.

wipe_out

Visit site