Adding AIS to current VHF network

andylipsberg

Visit site
Hi there,

I'm new to this, therefore I have questions:

I currently have GPSmap 720 with Garmin VHF 300 radio. I want to add AIS to my boat looking at getting Garmin AIS™ 600 Blackbox Transceiver (which works with my plotter). There are some used ones and new ones available in the market. Transceiver may use the same antena as it has built in splitter.

The question, how would I interconnect everything that it works, do I need to run new cables for power, NMEA network etc.

andylipsberg

Visit site
Just a thought .... as I see - its a discontinued product, its the older plain Class B AIS .. and price !!

Surely there must be a less expensive, still current unit, and Class B+ ??
current units are not compatible with my old chart-plotter. I'm fine with discontinued product :)

Sandy

duckduckgo.com
Hello

I run a Garmin GPSMAP 740 chart plotter and a VespaMarine AIS Watchmate, VespaMarine have taken over by Garmin and it was just a matter of wiring up the NMEA 0183 connections.

Looking at the specification of the Garmin AIS™ 600 Blackbox you will need a NMEA 2000 network - they are actually really very good. My 740 runs on 2000 and integrated with Radar it looks like air traffic control at the helm

Personally, I use a VesparMarine VHF Splitter as apart from radio checks with the English Coastwatch Institution and conversations with pals about who will get the beers at the bar rarely transmit.

PaulRainbow

Visit site
The Garmin AIS600 is discontinued, dated, basic, expensive and only supports NMEA2000 (which adds even more cost).

A much, much better solution would be an Emtrak AIS. Available with a built in splitter, supports NMEA 0183 and 2000, multiplex's those. Also available with Wifi, if needed and SOTDMA or CSTDMA

PaulRainbow

Visit site