Why a westerly?

magicaltrout

Visit site
Hey folks,

I am a complete novice, so please excuse the foolish question.

I recently bought a small yacht after a few years of inland cruising on the broads on a motorboat. Anyway, I'm working through my day skipper course (slowly) and I've taken the yacht out up the Orwell and a couple of small offshore trips with an instructor or a friend to help me get some experience before I do anything too silly.

Anyway, when I was with the instructor, I said "I have a plan to take the boat up to Whitby next year" as that's where I'm from and its a bit of a random bucket list thing. He chuckled and said it should be fun, but amongst other pieces of advice he said "Make sure you sail up in a Westerly". I didn't think much of it at the time, but I never got around to following it up.

Why was that advice given? Like, clearly you don't want to beat into the wind for 24/36 hours, but why specifically a westerly? Or do I need to go back and ask him? :)

Bru

svpagan.blogspot.com
Beam reach on an offshore breeze. Champagne sailing!

A northerly-ish and its a beat into potentially nasty seas and the potential to not be able to get into Whitby anyway

A southerly and it's a run with a nasty following sea

An easterly and it's a lee shore

So a westerly is the ideal wind for the trip

Not that it cannot be done otherwise, it depends on how strong the breeze is and the capabilities of boat and crew

Black Sheep

Visit site
Yes - ask him.
But I'd guess that you're right...
[ insert Bru's answer here - I must type faster ]

Unless of course he meant a Westerly yacht. A Longbow or a Pentland or a Centaur, for example. Maybe he doesn't trust Moodys or Beneteaus! Or maybe Bru is right...

Bru

svpagan.blogspot.com
Yes - ask him.
But I'd guess that you're right...
[ insert Bru's answer here - I must type faster ]