What I might did wrong with my antifauling?

slawosz

Visit site
Please see the photos. The boat launched in July, retrieved end of October. One layer of flag cruising, except keel, where I put 2 layers. Was my first AF job. I got the boat just antifauled in 2019, probably using flag and there was just a little bit of slime... And used this to paint: No Nonsense 9
Photos:

RJJ

Visit site
Hard to tell - so you're saying that's three months' growth? Does look like a lot, even without pressure wash.

A few guesses. I'm not an expert BTW but have done my own antifoul a couple of times.
- did you rub down the previous coat? Is there any risk the "new" antifoul didn't adhere to the old?
- was there a long delay between paint and launch? Most manufacturers seem to advise 3-4 weeks max.
- did you sail the boat much? If she's sitting in slack water for 3 months, you'd expect heavier fouling
- you say 1 coat. Most people seem to use 2 coats. how thinly did you spread it? There's much less fouling on the keel, where you say you put 2...maybe the hull portion just didn't have enough paint?

Biggles Wader

Visit site
Three months to get like that is absurdly poor. Having said that I would always use at least two coats all over and extra on high friction areas like the rudder. Was the paint genuine or did it come from some dodgy bloke down the pub?
I used Cruiser Uno for several years and put two or three coats on. It would work well for about six months and then it would start to grow a beard. This would easily erode off with use and I could get up to 18 months out of it if used regularly. Then I was offered a half used 20 litre tin of Hempel Olympic which you cant officially buy as a private customer but this was surplus from a local fishing boat. That was three years ago and it now needs redoing especially the rudder which has very little paint left on it. Jotun do something similar with the same restrictions if you can get it. Way to go.

Neeves

Visit site