What are fenders for.

G

I took a pretty big catamaran for a pint at the Folly last Friday evening. James was right this two hull stuff is good fun. On arrival I found a very fine gap between two yachts on the pontoon, the gap being about three foot longer than the 39ft of the cat, and we glided towards it. Now I'm a bit new to this twin engine lark and with 22ft of beam you've got a lot to think about but it's not rocket science. With the mildest of fendered touches on the astern boat we were snugged down in no time. Oh dear the skipper of the astern boat is not happy he disparages my boat handling skills and wants to know who my insurers are
so my question is..

Are yachts untouchable???

Tom

G

did you actually damage the guys boat ?
if you did he is surely well within his rights to seek recompence if you did not be as polite as you feel you can be in the situation

G

Doesn\'t it depend on

whether you leave a momento of that touch? I once watched a lady (I honestly would've told the same story if it was a man)!, reverse into my car and then begin an off road hill climb up the bonnet. When I gently suggested she come down from there, she said she felt it was perfectly OK to touch and find out where she was. Anyway.. can't see why the big problem with a fendered touch. What would the insurance company want, rent?

G

You might be a victim of the blame culture Tom , where every little mark or scrape must be blamed on someone else and paid for irrespective of whether you were the cause. Technically we all touch someone else's boat with our fenders whem we tie up alongside them so what's the guy moaning about ?

G

Re:

No Damage.It was a controled manoeuvre with the fender placed for just that eventuality. The boat was called "Solitaire" maybe he wanted to be alone.