Wanted: Any info on 'Girl Pat' type boats please

VPB

Visit site
Hello,
I'm a newbie here and am researching my late father's early life. When he was 17 in 1946 he was an apprentice carpenter at John Morris & Co (Gosport) and was involved in building a 'Girl Pat' type boat, a 35 footer later to be named 'Fanfare'. He left a note in the cabin trunking which was found some 20 years later and the then owner wrote to him from Guernsey returning the note. I think I know what the 'Girl Pat' type boats look like but unfortunately I have not been able to source any actual photographs as yet. On this forum some 11 years there was a brief discussion on these boats and even some web links which are now sadly defunct. Does anyone have a photo, or any details, of a 'Girl Pat' boat or even better of the actual 'Fanfare' that my father worked on? I would be very grateful for any assistance given.
Many thanks in advance.
Best regards
Vince Barnard

VPB

Visit site
Hi Graham,
Thank you so very much for finding this. All my searches were completely fruitless but this is amazing. I'm very tempted to make an appointment now...
It's incredible to think that it's in such good condition, I was concerned that it was most likely scrapped by now. My dad would be thrilled.
Thanks again.
Best regards
Vince Barnard

burgundyben

Visit site
The designer was CW Burnard, whose son, A V Burnard went on to be the in house naval architect at Fairey Marine responsible for the design of the Fairey Huntress, Huntsman and Swordsman motorboats. As a result, the Fairey Owners Club archive holds a modest amount of information about the Girl Pat. Get in touch if you'd like to see it.

VPB

Visit site
Hi Burgundyben,
Thank you for the information re CW Burnard & Fairey Marine. Yes, I would like to see more information about the Girl Pat design. Are you able to advise how I go about it please?
Best regards
Vince Barnard

Arcady

Visit site
Hello,