Sterndrive conversion

Dieselboatman

Visit site
Hello all

I am a diesel mechanic by trade and a hobby fabricator in my spare time

I am looking at getting a project boat, but dont want an outboard

Ideally inboard but sterndrive possible

However what puts me off sterndrive (and outboards) is the cost of them

Seen some inboard boats in size I would like (18~22ft)

I rather like the colvic 20 and seaworkers personally

However, I see an awful lot of sterndrive boats available (either with no sterndrive or an old knackered one still fitted)

Would it be possible to fabricate a plate or even a box to fit where the stern drive would, and then simply have a standard inboard gearbox and a stern gland instead?
With a prop behind the boat instead of under, and then just fabricate a rear mounted rudder?

Would this work? Any issues with doing this?
Just wondered why all of the inboard boats I have seen have prop underneath and not at back (in similar location then to a sterndrive or outboard)

Any advice/assistance would be great!

CLB

Visit site
Prop won't be deep enough in the water, assuming a planing hull. What you refer to is more akin to a surface drive, which needs special props among other things.

kashurst

Visit site
Would it be possible to fabricate a plate or even a box to fit where the stern drive would, and then simply have a standard inboard gearbox and a stern gland instead? Yes - subject to the hull being strong enough. Have a look at Radice Helice website for ideas of fittings available. You can buy/make fittings to allow you to put a shaft through the bottom of the hull and fit a P bracket to support it.
(from Radice Helice website: Semi-rigid stuffing box P.S.O. revolving type: Premitreccia semirigido orientabile P.S.O.)