Solent Seagull Mk III

boatsRus

Visit site
A friend of mine has recently been widowed and she wants to find a good home for her husband's beloved boat. She has enlisted my help but I am not an expert on classic boats so I would appreciate the assistance of this forum, particularly when it comes to valuing her and the best way to sell her. I have had a good look over the boat and done a bit of research - this is what I know so far:

She is a Solent Seagull Mk III (one of only 20 bulit) - Sail no 19. The class was designed as a day boat by Charles Nicholson and built by Camper and Nicholson in Gosport in the 1950s, mainly for members of Lee-on-the-Solent SC, although several were sailed at Hill Head SC. No 19 is called 'Crazy Jane' and seems to have been a fairly well known boat in her time, including some racing success. She is all wooden, 18'6'' LOA and bermudan rigged. Construction is an unusual reverse clinker with canvas covered plywood decks and she has a heavy steel centreboard. Not sure what sort of wood the hull is made of, but there is plenty of mahogany in evidence elsewhere. She has a wooden mast and boom (in good condition), newish sails (although I haven't actually seen them), loads of original fittings, a 4hp Yamaha outboard and a trailer (I am not sure that it is strictly 'road legal' nowadays but it has a towing hitch and mudguards, and has certainly been used on the road in the past).

This is not a restoration project - the boat is in fairly good condition for her age and is pretty much ready to go sailing tomorrow, including fresh paint and anti-foul. But, like most classic boats, she would benefit from even more tender loving care (replacing the canvas covering on the decks would be my top priority). She is currently stored indoors, so she may leak a bit when she is first launched, but there is no obvious cracking or opening of joints.

By all accounts, she sails well and is particularly suited to the Solent chop.