Shore power.

jamie N

Visit site
I have power from an extension lead to my boat in the marina, and it's used for either a 'usual' domestic power tool, or the battery charger, each of which are disconnected when not in use.
A number of posts here seem to link shore power with anode wastage. Obviously, with my items I'm not going to have that, but is it a common issue due to having fridges, or air-con running off of a dedicated and installed 240VAC/inverter system?
Genuine Q, as I've no experience of a 'posh yacht' with all the bits.

Last edited:

VicS

Visit site
No problem with your system because you have no connection between the shore power earth and your anodes.

There should be no problem with an inverter if there is no connection with the shore power earth and the anodes

For an occasional shore power hook up like yours consider using a camp site hook up system w ith a circuit breaker and rcd

A galvanic isolator is next to essential with a fixed shorepower installation because there will almost certainly be a connection between the shorepower earth and the anodes. It will prevent the type of corrosion associated with shorepower connections

VicS

Visit site
There should be no problem with an inverter if there is no connection with the shore power earth and the anodes
An inverter (or a generator) should however have its external earth terminal connected to the water. This can best be done using a small zinc anode which does not form part of a cathodic protection system

PaulRainbow

Visit site
An inverter (or a generator) should however have its external earth terminal connected to the water. This can best be done using a small zinc anode which does not form part of a cathodic protection system