Seagrass restoration project. ? another threat to anchoring.

Stemar

Visit site
Another Seahorse Trust?

Let's hope they're better at science than that wunch of bankers. If not, they'll get anchoring banned while scallop dredgers carry on raping the seabed

Is it pure coincidence that the two websites are similar in style?

JumbleDuck

Visit site
Let's hope they're better at science than that wunch of bankers. If not, they'll get anchoring banned while scallop dredgers carry on raping the seabed
Project Seagrass seems to be mainly people from Cardiff University Dept of Marine Biology. Although NGM liked to quote work from there, it looks to me as if the seagrass lot are quite respectable. I would not, to put it delicately, piss on the Seahorse Trust if they were on fire.

vyv_cox

coxeng.co.uk
One of the sites they are concentrating on is Porth Dinllaen on the Lleyn peninsula. They claim that seagrass there has been destroyed by anchoring. I have been anchoring there since about 1988 and remember the beach as absolutely pristine golden sand anywhere that people would sensibly anchor, other than very close to the protecting peninsula. The bay at Dale that has been planted is one which is rarely used for anchoring, rather too exposed to swell, but Porth Dinllaen is a critical anchorage for waiting either to cross Caernarfon Bar or to go south to Bardsey. It offers the only shelter from south westerlies for many miles around.

oldharry

Visit site